Seat Leon joins Swedish TCR-series

SEAT Leon Cupra R

The first generation SEAT Leon Cupra R was the basis of a one-make trophy, the SEAT Leon Supercopa.

The first generation SEAT Leon Cupra R was the basis of a one-make trophy, the SEAT León Supercopa. It operated in Spain, UK, Germany and Turkey from 2003. Seat Leon was developed by SEAT Sport and power was raised to 184 kilowatts (250 PS; 247 bhp). An “International Masters” final, featuring the best four drivers from each national series, was introduced in October 2005. A TDI-powered version has raced in the ECTS, an Italian-based endurance series for touring cars. More info on

During 2005, SEAT introduced the second generation Seat Leon into the World Touring Car Championship (WTCC) to replace the Toledo Cupra. The car features several modifications. Including a racing engine that develops over 191 kW (260 PS; 256 bhp), a Hewland sequential-shift gearbox (unrelated to the DSG), and an aerodynamic package for increased downforce.

Seat Leon is Light and strong

Minimum weight is 1,140 kilograms (2,513.3 lb) with driver. SEAT Sport, in partnership with Oreca, runs six cars in the WTCC. Two other cars are run by SEAT Sport UK (Northern South) based in Northampton, UK in the British Touring Car Championship (BTCC). A further two Seat Leon cars are run by SEAT Sport Italia in the Italia Superturismo Championship.



In 2006, the Supercopa León was replaced by the new shape León. The car is potentially faster than the WTCC version, as it features a turbocharged 2.0 litre engine, with over 221 kW (300 PS; 296 bhp), increased torque, the DSG gearbox, better aerodynamics (it includes the WTCC car’s front and rear spoilers, plus a venturi tunnel under the car, instead of a flat bottom), and 18 inch wheels, instead of the mandatory 17 inch wheels from the WTCC.

For 2007, the SEAT Cupra Championship in the UK will run both ‘New León’ Cupra Race cars with 221 kilowatts (300 PS; 296 bhp). As well as the Mk1 Seat Leon Cupra R race car with 184 kilowatts (250 PS; 247 bhp).

Victory is not all

The SEAT León Eurocup began in 2008 as a support series for the World Touring Car Championship. In 2008, Yvan Muller won the FIA World Touring Car Championship for Drivers at the wheel of a León TDI. SEAT won the Manufacturers’ title.

Greatness in a little car

In 2009, Gabriele Tarquini became the Drivers’ Champion with the León TDI. SEAT won the Manufacturers’ title for a second consecutive year.
The car came top in Class D in the 2014 Liqui Moly Bathurst 12 Hour. Read more about Seat Leon on Wiki. Here is the Swedish Touring Car Championship´s homepage.